Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Nayudamma Award Presented to Renowned Scientists through NCDA.And Presence of Famous people during the Award Presentation.

Dr.Ghauth Jasmon chosen for Nayudamma Award 2011

Nellore, 8th January 2011

Prof. Ghauth Jasmon, Vice Chancellor,University of Malaya,Kualalumpur,Malaysia has been chosen for the prestigious Nayudamma Award for the year 2011 institutred by Nayudamma Centre for development Alternatives,Nellore and R.M.K.Engineering College,Kavaraipettai,

The award will be presented at a special function at R.M.K.Engineering College,Kavaraipettai,Tamil Nadu on 29th March 2011.

Professor Datuk Dr. Ghauth Jasmon

Professor Datuk Dr. Ghauth Jasmon is the current University of Malaya vice chancellor (VC). He took office on 8 November 2008 replacing Datuk Rafiah Salim Prior to this, Ghauth Jasmon was the Multimedia University president and CEO of Unity College International.

Prof. Ghauth was invited by Telekom Malaysia to set up and build Universiti Telekom (the first private university in Malaysia) in October 1996 and commenced duty as President in December 1996. In March 1997, the government instructed him to build the Multimedia University (MMU) in the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC), Cyberjaya.

Prof. Ghauth Jasmon graduated with a First Class Honours Degree in Electrical Engineering in 1979 and the PhD degree in Power Systems Engineering in 1982 from the University of London.

His career began with a Lecturership in the Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Malaya in 1982. He was appointed the Head of the Electrical Engineering Department in 1986 to 1988. Based on his research, publication and consultancies, Prof. Ghauth was promoted to Associate Professor in 1989 and to Full Professor in 1992. In the same year, he was appointed the Dean of Engineering and held the position until August 1995. During his period as Dean, he introduced the Built Environment Programmes comprising Degrees in Architecture, Land and Quantity Surveying and several new Engineering degrees such as Materials, Telecommunication, Manufacturing and Environmental. Prof. Ghauth was appointed Deputy Vice Chancellor (Development) in August 1995.

As an academic, Prof. Ghauth has contributed extensively in research and in the Engineering Profession. He researched in the areas Power Systems Analysis, Network Analysis, Voltage Stability, System Security and Neural Networks. His works have been published in 30 international journal papers, 45 conference/seminars and other publications. He has also been involved in many professional engineering activities especially in the IET (UK) and IEEE (USA) and was formerly a Secretary General and Vice President of the Association for Engineering Education in South East Asia and the Pacific. He is currently a Fellow of the IET, Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia, Senior Member of the IEEE and an Eisenhower Fellow.

Due to his vast contributions to the development of the country's private tertiary education initiatives, he was bestowed with the Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka (DMSM) which carries the title Datuk by the Governor of Malacca.

The earlier NAYUDAMMA AWARDEESawardees include:

1. Dr.K.Kasturirangan, Member, Planning Commission

2. Dr.R.Natarajan, Former Chairman, AICTE

3. Prof.Dronamraju Krishna Rao,Former Biotechnology Advisor to Former

US President.Mr.Bill Clinton

4. Prof.P.Rama Rao, Former Vice Chancellor, University of Hyderabad

5. Dr.V.Bakthavatsalam, Former MD, IREDA

6. Prof.P.Ramachandra Rao, Former Vice Chancellor, Banaras Hindu


7. Prof.V.S.Rama Murthy, Former Secretary, DST

8. Prof.Goverdhan Mehta, Former Director, Indian Institute of Science

9. Prof.Anil Kakodkar, Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission

10. Dr.Kirit Parikh, Former Member, Planning Commission

11. Shri Nandan Nilekani, Former CEO, Infosys Ltd

12. Shri S.Ramadorai, Former CEO & MD, TCS Ltd

13. Prof.Bernard Amadei, President, Engineers without Borders

International, University of Colorado, Boulder, USA

14. Prof.T.Nejat Veziroglu.President, International Association for

Hydrogen Energy, USA.

15. Dr.Samir K.Brahmachari,Director General,CSIR,Government of

India,New Delhi


Prof.Y.Nayudamma – A Scientist par excellence, great humanist and above all a person with unusual tolerance whose profound concern for science and technology to serve the society inspired us to set up NAYUDAMMA CENTRE FOR DEVELOPMENT ALTERNATIVES in Nellore,Andhra Pradesh,India.

Technology Bank

The Nayudamma Technology Bank provides easy access and information to technologies supported by IDRC — technologies from the South for the South. This collection, which provides contact names for all the technologies described, is a way of sharing and updating information on technological advancements for international development.

The technology bank has been named in honour of the late Dr Yelavarthy Nayudamma, a man who dedicated his life to demonstrating how science and technology can and should be used for human benefit. Dr. Nayudamma, who joined the IDRC Board of Governors in 1981, lost his life in the tragic Air India disaster in 1985.

Dr Nayudamma deeply believed in the concept of "technologies for humanity" and the need to "bring modern science to bear upon the problems and needs of the rural poor." Though internationally recognized as an organic chemist, specializing in the complex polyphenol-protein interactions upon which leather manufacture is based (in 1965 he received the K.G. Naik Gold Medal for his research), Dr Nayudamma was ultimately a practical technologist. As director of the Central Leather Research Institute (CLRI) in Madras from 1958 to 1971, Dr Nayudamma made important contributions to the development of India's leather industry. In 1971, he became director of the Committee on Science and Technology in Developing Countries ( COSTED ), spearheading a movement for the appropriate integration of traditional and emerging technologies.Dr.Nayudamma was Director General of CSIR and also served as Vice-Chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University. Dr.Nayudamma has still holds the record of Youngest Director of a CSIR laboratory(CLRI, Madras) at the age of 35 and Youngest Director General of CSIR at the age of 49.

Dr Nayudamma's accomplishments are numerous and varied. It is out of admiration for his vision and in honour of his memory that IDRC has named this bank of technologies for development the Nayudamma Technology Bank.

Nayudamma was Senior Advisor,UNIDO,UNDP etc.,

Photos taken during the Nayudamma Award being presented to Dr.V.S.Ramamurthy the then Secretary,DST.(Please Open the Images in a new tab and Maximize it & watch to be able to view or read the Article Clearly).

Photo captured of Dr.Anil Kakodkar ,Former Chairman Atomic Energy Commission at Nayudamma Award Function.(Please Open the Images in a new tab and Maximize it & watch to be able to view or read the Article Clearly).

No comments:

Post a Comment